The Writer’s Block

The Writers’ Block is a convention-run bookstore devoted to the promotion and sale of books by our Guests of Honor, Featured Guests, and any attending authors who wish to participate, free of charge. Staff will be on hand to help readers find just the right book. The Writers’ Block takes place 305 & the Bookstore.  Authors and literary fans are encouraged to hang out; the rooms will serve as a gathering spot for lovers of words and fans of Penguicon’s participating authors.

Writers’ Block hours (SUBJECT TO CHANGE):

  • Friday from 4pm – 9pm
  • Saturday from 11am – 9pm
  • Sunday from 11am – 2pm

Participating authors so far:

  • Michael Lucas
  • Jennifer Haeger
  • Eric Wojciechowski
  • Nicole Castle-Kelly
  • Diana Kathryn Plopa
  • Paul Kemner
  • Cate Caldwell
  • Margeret Alex Kourvo
  • Zig Zag Claybourne
  • Emmy Jackson
  • Vikki Walker
  • Clif Flynt
  • Steven Lake
  • Cassandra Morgan
  • Jean Davis
  • Merrie Haskell
  • Michael Cieslak
  • Lucy Snyder
  • Drayton Alan

There will also be books available from our Guests of Honor: Amal El-Mohtar, Mary Robinette Kowal, Kristine Larsen, and Mary Anne Mohanraj

Authors: The Writers’ Block is being provided as a 100% free service to authors who attend Penguicon – we will sell your books at retail price (plus sales tax) in order to allow you to enjoy our convention, participate in readings, and get to know our attendees without having to sit at a table. If you’ve written a book and you’d like to participate, you are welcome – please email for details or come up to the Writers’ Block rooms on the 3rd floor.

Social Networks
Latest Tweets
Impossible to retrieve tweets. Try again later.